file [Solved ]Unmasking and deleting

6 years 11 months ago #3578 by ebr
Thanks for the suggestion, they are always welcome.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 years 11 months ago #4621 by triehm
Such a message would have been very helpful for me as well.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 years 1 month ago #5241 by Håkan
I am new to Modelio, but not to modeling. I agree with the originator of this thread, Deleting a symbol when working on a diagram should not mean deleting it from all other diagrams.
Be that as it may.
- How do I remove a symbol from a diagram without removing the element from the model and all other diagrams? Is that what the Mask command really means? If not, how do I Unmask what I masked earlier? That is, does Mask mean remove from diagram, or does it mean hide for now, until I unhide later?

(On the issue of deleting diagram symbols or model elements, maybe you should consider the approach taken by Good Ole' Visio. And I mean old Visio, when it still had a real (though limited) UML modeling capability. As I recall there was a user preference setting. Either, like Modelio, delete element when deleted in a diagram, or remove from diagram but keep element if it is present on another diagram.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

4 years 1 month ago #5242 by ebr
Dear Hakan,

Masking an Element from a diagram means deleting its representation from the current diagram. It does not delete the Element from the model or its representation from other diagrams.

The only solution to Unmak what you masked earlier is to use the undo command, i.e. Ctrl + Z, before saving your changes.

If you have saved your changes you must drag and drop your element from the model explorer into the diagram.

This discussion "Unmasking against deleting" occurs from time to time.
For Modelio, deleting an Element means remove it from the model whatever the context is (diagram, model explorer, API, etc.).
Your idea about a preference setting could be a good idea to handle that.

Hoping it helps and thanks,
EBR

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1 year 2 weeks ago #6431 by Rotilomb
Actually registered just to leave this remark. For me that deleting was a terrible trap. I decided to split a class diagram into two and started deleting half the classes. Which were supposed to only be contained in the other diagram. Imagine my surprise once I've finished work on the first diagram and turned to the second to see that half the definitions are gone.

There should defiantly be at least a warning once you hit delete for the first time, that this will delete the class from all diagrams. My recommendation would be to only delete classes if they are selected from the explorer. A few leftover classes don't hurt as much as half your project being deleted accidentally. It is probably a typical advanced user vs. beginners conflict in UI design.

Not quite sure how to repair it. I have a backup, but since I can not open two projects at the same time, I can probably not copy the deleted classes over, can I? Is there any way to undelete?

Otherwise, I will have to rewrite everything from screenshots I assume... who needs family time anyway...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: tma
Time to create page: 0.040 seconds
^ Back to Top