question-circle Access to a MObject from an element of a Diagram selection

8 years 4 months ago #2605 by jaracic
For example if someone have a script that reproduces the "Select in the Explorer" command for a diagram element, it will be useful to help me in my first steps in Modelio 3 scripting.

Because by exploring (quickly, I admit...) the modelio and jface APIs (I'm not an Eclipse programmer...) it is not abvious.

Actually, If someone can tell how to access to a IDiagramGraphic object from a ISelection element it would be enough (I hope;-) )

Thanks

Joseph

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

8 years 4 months ago #2606 by pan
Hi jaracic,

Actually, it is not possible to get the IDiagramGraphic from a selection. When you select an element from a diagram, the selection is the MObject itself.
For example, if you select a Class in a diagram, the selection is the Class object (and not the associated IDiagramGrahic).

Here is a little Jython script example:
navigationService = Modelio.getInstance().getNavigationService()

if (selectedElements.size > 0):
	for element in selectedElements:
		print "Metaclass: " + element.getMClass().getName()
		navigationService.fireNavigate(element)
If you select a class C1 in a diagram it will be automatically selected in the UML explorer (like the "Select in Explorer" command).
In this example, we browse a list of elements but only the last element will be selected.

Hope this helps

8 years 4 months ago #2607 by jaracic
Hi pan,

Thank you for your response, very useful... because it highlights something I didn't noticed :
selectedElements variable is updated by Modelio regarding the last user selection made in the explorer OR in the diagram !!!!

Actually I thought that selection variable was for diagram selection...

cheers.
Joseph

8 years 4 months ago #2608 by pan

selectedElements variable is updated by Modelio regarding the last user selection made in the explorer OR in the diagram !!!!