Submit a problem

In order to provide you the best help possible to analyze and debug your problems please provide us some information about your environment.
When you submit a problem, please indicate:
- The Version, Build Id, Core Id, System and Architecture (You can get these information in the Help/About menu entry)
- The Modelio Edition (Modelio Open Source or Modelio by Modeliosoft)
- Your Operating System

file The type "Date" was not found: How to resolve this issue?

7 months 2 weeks ago - 7 months 2 weeks ago #4258 by jxc328400
I am a java developer but new to Modelio.
I installed Modelio 3.5 on Windows 7 with modules "Java Designer", "Modeler Modules", "Persistent Profile", etc.
I am primarily interested in the "RoundTrip" code generation mode, as I am attaching a screenshot here.

My case is, if I create a java class diagram, and do a code generation, I get ABC.java.
Then I manually insert an attribute and a method in this java file, say,

public testMethod(String tableName, String columnName) {

}
public Date thisDate = null;

and click "Update Model from source if necessary", I want to see the model to show this method and attribute (that is "RoundTrip", right?), but Modelio does not understand the the java type "Date" and "String", for example, I got this warning:

The type "Date" was not found.
A "JavaTypeExpr" tagged value was generated for this type.

and the class model displays: thisDate: <no type>

I read some posts online and I was told I need to do some model-type and java-type mapping in the "javaCustomizationFile.xml". Here is my addins:

<ModelType name="date">
<JavaType name="Date">
<import name="java.util.Date"/>
<wrapper name="Date"/>
</JavaType>
</ModelType>
<ModelType name="string">
<JavaType name="String">
<import name="java.lang.String"/>
<wrapper name="String"/>
</JavaType>
</ModelType>